Vandermark takes Stock Car Special May 13

Mt. Pleasant — While the threat of rain hung over the track for most of the night, Mother Nature once again cooperated and the Mt. Pleasant Speedway was able to get in its second straight week of racing on a lucky Friday, May 13.

On the schedule was another full show of racing in UMP Late Models, Chuck’s Discount Foods UMP Modifieds, NAPA UMP Modified Mini Stocks, Mt. Pleasant and Clare Automotive Stock Minis, and a Soaring Eagle Casino and Resort UMP Stock Car $400 special.

In the Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort UMP Stock Car $400 Special it was apparent that the win would come down to a two-car battle between No. 7 Mike Sparks and No. 10 Gary Vandermark. Leading with three laps to go Sparks had car trouble and from there Vandermark coasted to the win. Rounding out the unofficial top five were No. 32 Tom Hodges Jr., rookie No. 10SS Justin Gilland, No. D1 Ray Devericks, and No. 11 Sr Jeff Loomis.

Up next were the NAPA UMP Modified Mini Stocks and No. 16 Joe Burch would get to victory lane over No. 68 Trever Fedewa, No. 88 Mike Schnettler, and No. 91 Nathan Carlon.

In the Chuck’s Discount Foods UMP Modified feature early on the race was a six-car lead pack with No. 15 Rich Robinson Jr., No. 0X Zack Olger, No. 19 Cody Bauer, No. 75 Roy Harvey, No. 13 Andy Galgoci, and No. 43 Kevin Miller. Olger and Robinson Jr. would battle it out for lead for several laps with Robinson Jr. using the high side and Olger finding his groove on the low side. At the checkered flag Robinson Jr. would get his first feature win of the season over Bauer, Olger, No. 87 David Mielke, and Galgoci unofficially.

Out next was the Mt. Pleasant and Clare Automotive Stock Mini feature where another two-car battle would shape up between No. 15 Jeff McKenzie and No. 7 Fred Parisian. Parisian held off McKenzie from there and grabbed the feature win over McKenzie, No. 52 Scott Boyd, making his racing debut driving for ‘Taco’ Bob Baltierrez, No. 12 Marq Eaton, and unofficially in fifth was 13-year-old rookie No. D7 Tasha Decker, in her best finish.

The final event of the night was the UMP Late Model feature where No. 23V Ryan Vanderveen and No. 9R Curtis Roberts started out as the class of the field early on. No. X1 Justin Robinson used the high-side of the track to move through the field and found himself in second, but going for the lead, Robinson got a bit too high in turn two and slipped off the track. Vanderveen would get the win over No. 29 Sam Epling, No. 0K Mike Kresnak, in his best career feature finish in third, No. 6R Carl Ries, and unofficially No. 91 Adam Thrush in fifth. A flat right rear tire at the end of the race would end Roberts’ chance at a second straight Mt. Pleasant feature win.

Heat wins went to No. 21H David Hilliker and Vanderveen in Late Models; Harvey and No. 22 Roger Flinn III in mods; Vandermark and No. 11 Josh Loomis in Stock Cars; Burch in Mod Mini; and Parisian in Stock Mini.

May 20 is another full show plus a Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort UMP Modified Special. Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing at 7:45 p.m. Go to or on Facebook for more details.


(By Jeremy Dickman, Mt. Pleasant Speedway Public Relations & Marketing Director.)