Spencer, Hidy win big July 29 specials


Mt. Pleasant, Mich. — Emotions were running high Friday, July 29 at the Mt. Pleasant Speedway as fans, family, and friends remembered two former racing greats in Dennis Boyce and Carl McCrumb.

The Dennis Boyce Memorial UMP Modifieds $500 to win special honored the 1993 and 1995 Mt. Pleasant Speedway IMCA Modified champion who passed away in December 2010 at the age of 55, while the sixth annual Carl McCrumb Memorial UMP Stock Cars $300 to win special honored former Mt. Pleasant Speedway pioneer McCrumb, who also happens to have been my grandfather, and who died in 1998 at age 68.

With the hot and humid weather, the stands were packed in what was likely the largest crowd of the year for a night that began with autographs prior to the races.

Coming out first were the Chuck’s Discount Foods UMP Modifieds for the Dennis Boyce Memorial. In what became a great race among the top three of No. 39 Chad Spencer, No. 75 Roy Harvey and No. 711 Scott Payton, Spencer would go to the feature victory lane for the first time in three years in the UMP Modified class at the Mt. Pleasant Speedway, over Harvey and Payton.

In the Smokers Club UMP Stock Cars, the field rolled out next for the sixth annual Carl McCrumb Memorial and again another great show ensued with No. 10 GaryVandermark, No. 77B Rob Brillhart and No. 87 Landon Hidy each showing they had strong cars throughout the race. When all was said and done a thrilled Hidy would get the feature win over Vandermark and Brillhart unofficially.

A season-high 18 Wilson Steel Fab and Burnrite Stoves UMP Late Models were on hand for their $1,000 to win and $200 to start main event. A last lap caution for the No. 30 Kathy Jarvis set up a green-white-checkered finish and would see No. 28 Sam Epling, the 2010 Mt. Pleasant Speedway UMP Late Model champion, get his first feature win at Mt. Pleasant for 2011. Epling held off charges by No. 85 Mark Andersen, who was going for his third feature win in a row, No. 0X Zack Olger came home third, with No. 87 Rich Neiser fourth and No. 0K Mike Kresnak unofficially fifth.

In the NAPA UMP Modified Mini Stocks, the season-long battle between Trever Fedewa and Joey Burch continued and this time No. 16 Joey Burch would go to victory lane over Fedewa, No. 610 Blaine Hendrick, No. 15 Calvin Stemler and No. 88 Mike Schnettler unofficially.

The Mt. Pleasant and Clare Automotive Stock Minis capped off the night of racing and No. 62 Steve Keeler Jr. wrapped up his perfect night by adding the feature win to his previous heat race victory. Keeler held off No. 52 Bob Baltierrez and No. 7 Fred Parisian for the win.

A very big thank you to the Boyce Family and Friends and my family and friends for their support in the night’s specials.

This Friday, Aug. 5 is the big Sunoco American Late Model Special plus full show of racing in all classes. Gates open 5 p.m. and races at 7:45 p.m. Check out more on Facebook or www.mtpleasantspeedway.com.