Mt. Pleasant, Mich. — Fans attending the Friday, June 3 races will be in store for a little extra bonus.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing action starting at 7:45 p.m. sharp with makeup features from last week in the NAPA UMP Modified Mini Stocks and Mt. Pleasant and Clare Automotive Stock Minis.

Following the postponed features the night will move into the regularly scheduled action, which includes an Eastman Auto UMP Modified $500 to win Special, plus a full show in the UMP Late Models, Smokers Club UMP Stock Cars, and the two four cylinder classes.

Last week saw a season-high 80 cars come through the pit gates for the third annual Sunoco American Late Model Series “Woof Classic.” A star-studded field of some of the Midwest’s best Late Model drivers were on hand including the likes of Curtis Roberts, Sam Epling, Jeep Van Wormer, Rusty Schlenk, Matt Miller, and Jon Henry.

The 25th of 27 Late Models to go out for quaifying, “The Jackson Assassin” Rusty Schlenk laid down a Mt. Pleasant Speedway track record time of 14.04 seconds on his second lap. Schlenk bested the old mark set on May 22, 2009 by Zack Olger.

With the track record in hand, Schlenk, the 2010 UMP DirtCar Late Model National Champion, now could take aim at the “Woof Classic” feature victory.

The front row of the 30-lap, 22-car UMP Late Model “Woof Classic” feature consisted of three-time Mt. Pleasant Speedway Late Model champion No. X1 Justin Robinson of Shepherd and 1999 Late Model champion No. 25 Jeff Kohn of Sheridan.

As the green flag dropped Schlenk pulled out to a sizeable lead, and No. 55 Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning moved up one spot to second. Running in sixth place midway through the race, No. 21H David Hilliker of Midland broke up against the turn four wall. Later in the race the No. 6M Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake got a bit off the track in turn four while in third place and rolled his car. Marcoullier walked away from the rollover. Several laps later the checkered flag would fly and Schlenk would cap off his record-setting night with the Sunoco American Late Model Series “Woof Classic” victory, holding off VanWormer, Kohn, No. 49 Brian Ruhlman of ClarkLake, No. 0X Zack Olger of St. Johns, No. 25 Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, who made his way from a 21st starting spot, Robinson, No. 23V Ryan VanderVeen of Six Lakes, who came from 22nd spot, No. 27 Eric Spangler of Lake City, and No. 13 Scott Baker of Ionia, in the official top 10.

Up next the Chuck’s Discount Foods UMP Modifieds rolled out for their feature event. The class of the field on this night was No. 0X Zack Olger who got an early jump on the field and pulled away quickly. At the checkered flag, Olger sailed to his second straight Mt. Pleasant Speedway modified feature win over No. 20D Dan DeLong of Ithaca, No. 13 Andy Galgoci of Mt. Pleasant, Mich, who charged through the field from a mid-field starting spot, No. 81 Lawrence Sprague Jr. of Mt. Pleasant,  No. 15 Rich Robinson Jr., of Mt. Pleasant,  No. 1S Jeff Sayles of Munith, No. 32X Ryan Ritchie of Gladwin, No. 75 Roy Harvey of Mt. Pleasant, No. 21 Steven Hilliker of Midland, and No. 19 Cody Bauer of Farwell, in the official top 10.

Getting early jump in the Smokers Club UMP Stock Cars feature was No. 7 Mike Sparks of Otter Lake. Then around the halfway mark of the 20-lap feature, Sparks dropped back in the field and No. 10 Gary Vandermark of Lowell, took the lead and never looked back. Vandermark went on to grab the feature win over No. 49 Greg Tragis of Harrison,  No. 77B Rob Brillhart of Crystal,  No. 28 Nathan Murphy of Sanford, who was filling in for regular driver Paula Ebel, No. 51 Mike Fecko of Gladwin, No. 11 Sr Jeff Loomis of Weidman, Sparks, No. 58 Mike Turner of Lake, No. 32 Tom Hodges Jr. of Midland, and No. 61W Tom Wemigwans of Mt. Pleasant. With the win, Vandermark is now 8-for-8 on the 2011 season with four features and four heat wins.